Norges teknisk-naturvitenskapelige universitet (NTNU)

    ntnuNorwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) is the largest and most important university in Norway. It has 14 faculties and 70 departments and divisions with an operating income of NOK 7.6 billion (€ 850 million). While NTNU’s primary responsible to educate Norway’s engineers and technical experts it offers more than 400 study programs in natural sciences, humanities, social sciences, economics, medicine, health sciences, education, architecture, entrepreneurship, and fine and performing arts. NTNU has approximately 39 000 students, roughly half of whom are in technical and scientific disciplines. In 2015, there were 6553 graduates with a completed degree, 6000 participants in continuing education courses with credit, 3000 international students, 340 doctoral degrees awarded. With a Nobel Prize in Medicine in 2014 it has so far produced 4 Nobel laureates.

    Participating Entities and Major Infrastructure

    Department of Electronic Systems

    The Department of Electronic Systems is one of eight departments at the Faculty of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering at NTNU. The department has 15 professors, 13 associate professors, 15 adjunct professors, 17 postdocs, 80 PhD students, and 100 master students.  The research is organized into 7 groups that have activities in materials and nanoelectronics, biophotonics, integrated electronic circuit design and systems, acoustics, radio systems, signal processing, and wireless smart systems. The signal processing group is the largest research group within the department, where it has 8 faculty performing research in wireless communications, multimedia, and medical technology. It was ranked at the best Signal Processing Group in Norway as part of an international evaluation done by the Research Council of Norway (NSF Norway) where Professor Balasingham is leading the work on wireless biomedical sensor networks.

    The department is currently establishing a Biomedical Engineering expertise under Prof. C. Contag (Adjunct Professor) for the study of circulating extracellular vesicles.  There is Dynamic Light Scattering (Malvenic Analytical), Nanoparticle Tacking Analysis (NanoSight) and an in-built facility for the microfluidic size-based exosome unit, by M. Kanada.

    Representative Publications & Projects

    Participating Personnel

    Ilangko Balasingham
    Christopher Contag
    Masamitsu Kanada
    Ali Khaleghi

    © 2019 Gladiator Project. All Rights Reserved.